Internet Librarian conference

I’m excited to attend the Internet Librarian conference next month in Monterey. The program looks great, and I’m excited about the daily keynotes.

Same old conference dilemma, though: a few sessions in different tracks look equally interesting, but they’re at the same time. Being a first-time attendee, I’m curious to see how information will be provided after the conference. This is clearly a tech-savvy group that will upload their slideshows, and I see that presenters and attendees are encouraged to tag their presentations, photos, and blog posts as IL2008. I’m fairly confident that I’ll be able to catch up on sessions that I’m unable to attend live.

This is my first trip to California. I don’t know how much free time I’ll have in Monterey, but I’ll ask my sister about nearby can’t-miss sights (she studied at the Defense Language Institute in the 90’s). Your suggestions are welcome!

This entry was posted in IL2008 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Internet Librarian conference

  1. Travis Johnson says:

    Hello Toni–

    I work for Monterey County Free Libraries, and am currently the Assistant Librarian for the Castroville branch (about 15 miles North of Monterey, “The Artichoke Capital of the World”). I now live outside of Castroville, near the lovely Elkhorn Slough, but I used to live in Old Monterey, about 3 blocks above the Conference Center.

    I know all the good restaurants (since I was a chef in Monterey before joining up with the libraries), so you can ask me anything about that. I posted all my faves to the IL wiki under the “restaurants” section.

    As for sightseeing, within walking distance of the Conference is the Monterey Recreation Trail, which will take you from Fisherman’s Wharf (Food, Galleries, Historical Adobes from when Monterey was California’s original capital) to Lover’s Point, near Pacific Grove. Every step in between is filled with views of otters, boats, the bay, history. The whole coast from Monterey to Pacific Grove is a photographer’s dream.

    If you have a car and if you have a chance, visit Point Lobos (5 miles past Carmel on Highway 1). Visit Flickr.com and enter “Point Lobos” into the search box. You’ll see what I mean. It’s my second favorite place of natural beauty in California, bested only by Yosemite. Local’s tip: You don’t have to pay the $9 to get in. Park outside the gate and walk in. It’s perfectly kosher with the rangers. It gets you a nice, easy 0.5-0.75 mile hike through the sweet-smelling pines to the phenomenally gorgeous rocks and trails and beaches at the water’s edge.

    The Monterey City Library (http://www.monterey.org/library) is about a 8 minute walk from the Conference Center, and is definitely worth a visit. There is also a beautiful and spacious park in front of City Hall on the way to the library.

    If you have any other questions about the area, feel free to send me an email. I’ve basically lived here for my entire 29 years and can tell you what’s awesome, and what is a tourist-trap.

    Hope to see you there!

    Regards,

    Travis M. Johnson (johnsontm [at] co.monterey.ca.us)
    Monterey County Free Libraries

  2. Toni says:

    Thanks for the tips, Travis! I looked through the restaurant suggestions, and I’m very excited about the options.

Leave a Reply

