Internet Librarian schedule

Most of the sessions I plan to attend on the first day of the Internet Librarian conference fall in the Web Design track:

  • Designing the Digital Experience Presentation
  • Fast & Easy Site Tune-Ups
  • Cool Tools for Library Webmasters
  • Facebook & Libraries: An Ethnographic Evolution

I’m drawn to one of the Information Discovery & Search sessions, Search Widgets & Gadgets for Libraries, because the speakers will discuss learning management systems. I’m also going to check out E-Copyright: Online Tools from the Digital Libraries track; copyright clearance is not part of my responsibilities, but I’d like to have a better understanding of what my colleagues in the School of Graduate Studies deal with.

On day two of the conference, I’ll focus mostly on the Learning track:

  • LOL @ Your Library: Live Online Learning
  • Streaming Media & Re-Tooling Library Services for Online Learners
  • Blending Technologies for Library Promotion & Instruction

The Solving Problems track has an interesting program on Solving the Money Problem, and I look forward to hearing ways we can improve our library website.

I’m torn between two sessions that happen at the same time. One is Embedding Libraries/Librarians in Learning in the Innovation & Change track. It’s scheduled at the same time as another Learning track program, Podcasting & Video Tutorials: Designing, Creating, & Making Them Work. I might try to scoot from one to the other.

I haven’t quite figured out my schedule for day three. I like the sound of Crafting the User-Centered Library from the Planning track. There’s a session about Twitter that would be fun to go to (that’s in the Social Media track). After lunch, I’m torn between three simultaneous sessions:

  1. Web 2.0 Tools for Online CM Workflow & Intranets (Digital Operations track)
  2. Making Movies: Cameras, Lights, Action (Social Media track)
  3. Pecha Kucha — Conversation Face-Off! (Planning track)

Before the closing keynote, I’d like to attend Information Visualization Tools (in the Digital Operations track), which will I think will be particularly helpful in my undergraduate instruction sessions.

I’m excited about the program because it touches on many aspects of my job: working with online and on-campus learners, synchronous and asynchronous library instruction, tutorial design, web design, and using web 2.0 technology to benefit students and intra-library communication.

This entry was posted in IL2008 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

